Trump curbs immigrants from 6 nations in election-year push

WASHINGTON , DC - JANUARY 26: United States President Donald J. Trump walks away after answering a reporter's question as he returns to the White House January 26, 2018 in Washington, DC. Trump is returning from the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland. (Photo by Ron Sachs-Pool/Getty Images)

The Trump administration is curbing immigration for six countries as part of an election-year push. But the move isn’t a full travel ban like President Donald Trump’s initial order in 2017.

Department of Homeland Security officials say the six countries didn’t meet security screening requirements for identification and information-sharing.

The new effort restricts certain kinds of visas and the countries affected are Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania. Seven other countries are subject to a more strict ban. The current restrictions are the third version of Trump’s travel ban, and those new restrictions come as Trump tries to show progress on his immigration priorities.

The restrictions go into effect Feb. 21.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.